ATTENTION SOCIAL MEDIA USERS: STOP USING INSTAGRAM

ImageInstagram has always been that service that I never understood. I mean it’s cool to be able to filter your stuff, but why make a photo look old? I just never got it. And with today’s new Terms of Service I don’t think I will ever get it. To be frank Instagram is going to be dead soon.The link below is to their new Terms of Service My favorite section is under the Rights section, #2:

To help us deliver interesting paid or sponsored content or promotions, you agree that a business or other entity may pay us to display your username, likeness, photos (along with any associated metadata), and/or actions you take, in connection with paid or sponsored content or promotions, without any compensation to you.

Basically it means they can make money doing whatever they want with your photos to make money and you don’t get in on any of it.

Now I know that Facebook constantly pulls stuff with their ToS all the time but I’m still reading to find if this is in their ToS. Frankly, if it was I’m sure I’d find some information on it but I am not. Basically it is different that Facebook because it does not use the actual word sell. 

Personally I know it’s a service so if you use it you have to agree, but to me with all of the photo sharing options out there that do not claim this right, it’s worth it to stop.

If you don’t delete your account by January these ToS go into effect regardless. Personally I’m glad I won’t have to see the photo shading as much anymore.

 

http://bits.blogs.nytimes.com/2012/12/17/what-instagrams-new-terms-of-service-mean-for-you/

Terms of Use • Instagram.

Leave a Reply

