Google’s crash yesterday

ImageI am glad I wasn’t the only one who experienced this. I thought I was going crazy.

A little after 1 yesterday I noticed my Google Calendar feed was throwing error messages like crazy, then Gmail started too. Then my Chrome browser shut off. At first I thought it was just a very weird coincidence, but Google later reported they were all part of the same error.

Essentially Google Sync (which syncs your account setting across all things Google) hit a server error that caused an error in the browser itself causing it to crash the browser all together.

This is quite a rare and unique event. I’ve never heard of any cloud service problem actually crashing a browser itself, but I guess yesterday proved it’s possible.

Google Accidentally Transmits Self-Destruct Code to Army of Chrome Browsers | Wired Enterprise | Wired.com.

Leave a Reply

