Another year another diet

Following the millions of people who make those New Year’s Resolutions, once again I’m renewing my efforts to lose weight.Yeah I’ll admit it I’m fat. Back in July I clocked in at around 225 with some of the worst eating habits in my life. All bread and processed foods I was really out of control. Then I decided to go Vegetarian for a while.

Do not get me wrong I LOVED being Vegetarian. It helped me do something I had never thought possible; like vegtables. Growing up I never had any desire to eat veggies in any form. I used to have to be straight forced to eat anything resembling a salad. Going Vegetarian for a while forced me to realize that I was missing out on some of the most amazing tastes and nutrition, and I am very thankful for it. Unfortunately for whatever reason Vegetaianism never lead to me losing much in the way of weight. In fact I ended going up quite a bit. I’m a firm believer in different diets work for different people and going total Veg, just wasn’t in the cards for me.

But once again I am going into the foray of trying to get to my goal of 180 lbs. I have a vacation to Hawaii coming up and I want to be in some semblence of shape for that, plus I have someone in my life that wants me to be happy and healthy. SO this time around I’m going back to what worked for me in High School: High Protein/Fat low carbohydrate. For this week and next I’m sticking under 10g of net carbs, then I’ll go up some more to 50.All of this under the guise of 13-1500 calories So far the results are pretty remarkable.

Last week when I started this I was around 215. Today I’m rocking 205. Yes I am sure that much of it might be water weight or my crazy work week but hey I’ll take it, and for once on a diet I feel really good. Not tired, not ravenous ready to rip into a pizza like a crazed Zombie biting into someone’s head (there’s a visual for you). And to be honest it’s a dead simple diet: Meat and Veggies. That’s it. I can eat all the protein and vegetables I want as long as I don’t bump up that Net carb count too high. And once I switch over to 50-80g a day that’s a heck of a lot of fruits and vegetables. I’m still limiting dairy (I have a serious addiction) but some soy milk takes care of that. The one thing I think I need to work on next is getting more veggies into the mix. It always becomes a production to bring in vegetables to me for lunch at work (I refuse to be that guy that brings in a cooler, a lunchbox is enough). and buying a $5 salad also sucks. I’ll be on the drawing board for that.

I also need to work on a better exercise plan. Because of my insane week schedule ( I am working/rehearsing from 8:30 a.m. until around 11 p.m. Monday to Wednesday and Thursday 8:30 – 10 p.m. until March) Getting into a non “weekend warrior” workout schedule is going to be a challenge. Once March hits I will be able to really get in a lot of gym time to help with weight loss.

Anyway, I’ll be posting updates as I go. Hopefully soon I’ll be writing to say I hit my target.

 

On a side note I just have to say to people who post Facebook stati (is that the right word) laughing at people who are overweight, or make lots of “fat” jokes. Stop. You have no idea what that person is going through or why they fell into that food rut. Making fun of someone because of their race, gender, or sexual orientation is shunned in our society. Weight should be in that category. If you’ve been thin and healthy all of your life you are damn lucky. Count your blessings. You have no idea what it is like to be trapped inside of your own body, terrified to look at yourself in the mirror because you hate what you see. You have no idea what it feels like to look down at a scale and see a number so high you don’t ever think you’ll ever get it lower. If you’re one of those people who do this shame on you.

And if you’re a person like I was who was looking at that scale, that mirror in shame and fear. There is hope. Something as simple as swapping out one type of food at a meal for another can make a ton of difference. You have the ability to do it, you have the strength to do it. The first step is always the hardest, but just take it and don’t look back.

Leave a Reply

