iPad note taking apps: What are they and which is the best?

So as much as I hate to admit it, I am addicted to mobile computing. Being able to take my iPad on the road instead of my laptop is just awesome to me. Since I started using an iPad I’ve been trying one note taking app after another. This is my top set.

1. Evernote

Evernote is a free note taking app that is multi-platform (mobile and comptuer). It allows you to sync notes and notebooks across them. It also has integration that lets you record audio and video easily. There is a paid tier that gives you more storage, but unless you’re doing a ton of video and audio it shouldn’t be a problem. Evernote is hands down the best of the bunch being multi-platform and syncable.

2. 7notes HD

7notes is a very cool app because it records your handwriting. You open up a note and at the bottom of your screen you can write with your finger or a stylus. Once you’re done writing you hit the enter button and there is your note. As far as I know it’s iOS only though and there’s no cross syncing. There’s also a pay for version that will transcribe your scribbling into typed text.

3. Sketch Rolls

Sketch Rolls is $1.99 and is iOS only with no syncing. This app excels when it comes to projecting on a screen since it basically turns the screen into a blank canvas for you to draw and write on.

Overall Evernote is the clear winner in terms of portability, compatibility and easy of use. Yes in a teaching situation Sketch Rolls is really nice for projection and creation since Evernote uses the keyboard for input. Plus with the price being right, you can’t go wrong with Evernote.

One comment on “iPad note taking apps: What are they and which is the best?

  1. I have to agree that Evernote should be on top of the list of note-taking apps. Its functional and efficient. I’ve been using this app for quite some time now, along with a free app I downloaded called Snap-A-Note, which I use as some sort of reminder app. Both of them are truly useful and they greatly helped me in keeping my work organized at all times. Thanks for this post!

Leave a Reply

