So I have a new arcade machine

Once we got to the Maryland State Fairgrounds a miracle happened. The end result is something I never thought I would get to own.So we walk into this huge warehouse to see row after row of arcade machines. Some were interesting but nothing super exciting.

Then I rounded a corner and saw one of my “Holy Grail” cabinets: The Star Wars Trilogy

For the record this is not the Vector Graphics star wars you played in the 1970s. This game was released by Sega in the late 90s and features levels from all three movies, and you get to lightsaber fight Boba Fett and Darth Vader. It was one of my favorite games of all time and it was just sitting there.

After thinking about it for a while and watching about 5 different people walk by clearly interested, I pulled the trigger and she was mine all mine!

The next trick was getting this bad boy home. I seriously can’t thank my cousins and Lauren for helping. If it wasn’t for Brett I would never have gotten it back to NJ, but it’s there now, up and running. Minus some small plastic cracks an some wear and tear it is in fantastic condition.

This video is the first time I turned it on.

My next steps are to do some more cleaning on it, replace the t molding along the sides (really cracked) and possibly look at some type of replacement plastic for the joystick rest. One thing I have learned so far is that replacement art is almost non existant for this cabinet which is a little bit of a bummer but not that big of a deal.

Really a rare and epic find!

2 comments on “So I have a new arcade machine

  1. That’s a great pickup. I really enjoyed this game when I got to play it at my old Walmart in Crestview, Florida. Found your blog while searching for arcade collector blogs. Keep up the good work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

