A neat little Microsoft Office Trick

I am a huge fan of keyboard shortcuts which can save you time and increase effiency. Not having to grab and move the mouse sounds like a small amount  of time but believe me it adds up quickly. I was recently working on a training session for PowerPoint when I came across this neat trick I never knew existed.Open up any Office program (2007 and later) and tap the Alt key. You see tons of little letters appear next to each ribbon and icon. Type the letter and it will open/activate the corresponding item. I’m sure this has been around forever, but I had no idea.

   

 

 

Every single item has a shortcut including the Quick Access Toolbar. A pretty nice feature since you can basically add custom keyboard shortcuts with no actual work involved.

Definitely worth checking out. Now my next challenge will be to create an entire PowerPoint presentation without the mouse.

 

Leave a Reply

