DC Universe Online: Has WoW finally got a legit competitor

OK so anyone who knows me knows that I have been a serious World of Warcraft addict for quite some time now. At one point I had two accounts I was leveling so many characters, When Cataclysm came out I jumped right in but something was a bit different this time.

This time it wasn’t as fun as the other expansions. For some reason I was not having any fun with it, but I didn’t have much else to turn to when it came to MMOs. Age of Conan was an epic failure, Warhammer was so much of a WoW clone I only played it for about 15 minutes. Star Trek online was OK but after the first 15 space battles the joy of it wore off (and lets be honest ground battles suck). So with little hope I found myself downloading and buying DC Universe online to see if this might be a new experience.

So far I have been totally blown away. I absolutely love every aspect of it. From the beginning you have the chance to totally customize your character and even during the game you can mask what equipment you have with your default costume so for a change not every single person looks the same. There are a large amount of class/skill/fight combinations which seems to indicate that you will not get bored with the same class combos that WoW is limited to

You also can’t go wrong with the superhero concept. With a simple story line DC Universe creates quite the immersive environment full of those comic book characters you love. Almost instantly you find yourself fighting off monsters alongside Superman, Batman, The Flash and many many more. It is an incredible amount of fun being able to fly through Gotham city, or Metropolis fighting for good or evil (yes you can be a villan).

Another huge plus is the combat system. Unlike wow which relies on auto attacks primarily for damage. DC Universe has you clicking to attack, as well as spells. This game also is out on the PS3 which if you are a controller person you have that option as well. I was very impressed with the overall polish of the games combat system. Many MMOs out there end up getting bogged down in the “how do I do this” of fighting and DC navigates this beautifully.

I also have to give props to their solution to a common problem. I’m in WoW and I am leveling a healer class. If I stay as a a healer I will always to less damage. In DC Universe after you hit a certain level you can turn on your group role. When not turned on your attacks and spells do damage, when in your healer role your spells heal. By adding this mode it makes it possible to actually level with the same efficiency as a pure DPS dealer.

Overall I 100% recommend this game to anyone who is a fan of MMOs. I have been blown away at how good this game is. If you’re looking for me I’m on the Virtue and Vice server. Anvindr is the character I am working on now. I hope to see you there!

This time it wasn’t as fun as the other expansions. For some reason I was not having any fun with it, but I didn’t have much else to turn to when it came to MMOs. Age of Conan was an epic failure, Warhammer was so much of a WoW clone I only played it for about 15 minutes. Star Trek online was OK but after the first 15 space battles the joy of it wore off (and lets be honest ground battles suck). So with little hope I found myself downloading and buying DC Universe online to see if this might be a new experience.

So far I have been totally blown away. I absolutely love every aspect of it. From the beginning you have the chance to totally customize your character and even during the game you can mask what equipment you have with your default costume so for a change not every single person looks the same. There are a large amount of class/skill/fight combinations which seems to indicate that you will not get bored with the same class combos that WoW is limited to

You also can’t go wrong with the superhero concept. With a simple story line DC Universe creates quite the immersive environment full of those comic book characters you love. Almost instantly you find yourself fighting off monsters alongside Superman, Batman, The Flash and many many more. It is an incredible amount of fun being able to fly through Gotham city, or Metropolis fighting for good or evil (yes you can be a villan).

Another huge plus is the combat system. Unlike wow which relies on auto attacks primarily for damage. DC Universe has you clicking to attack, as well as spells. This game also is out on the PS3 which if you are a controller person you have that option as well. I was very impressed with the overall polish of the games combat system. Many MMOs out there end up getting bogged down in the “how do I do this” of fighting and DC navigates this beautifully.

I also have to give props to their solution to a common problem. I’m in WoW and I am leveling a healer class. If I stay as a a healer I will always to less damage. In DC Universe after you hit a certain level you can turn on your group role. When not turned on your attacks and spells do damage, when in your healer role your spells heal. By adding this mode it makes it possible to actually level with the same efficiency as a pure DPS dealer.

Overall I 100% recommend this game to anyone who is a fan of MMOs. I have been blown away at how good this game is. If you’re looking for me I’m on the Virtue and Vice server. Anvindr is the character I am working on now. I hope to see you there!

Leave a Reply

